Sustainability Week Pakistan

Project Summary

Reducing the impact of climate change and promoting the local economy through planting and grafting olive trees in Dherai, Pakistan

Global Goals

Country

Pakistan

Status

ongoing

Budget

5000 €

Partners

  • Sustainability Week International

Project goals

  • Establishment of a hybrid olive tree nursery in Dherai village as a permanent resource centre

  • Two thousand olive plants will be grown in the established nursery

  • About three thousand olive plants of good quality are purchased from a renowned olive plant company in Tarnab farm in Peshawar district and distributed to local farmers for replanting.

  • Hiring local experts to graft three thousand wild olive trees into productive trees in Dherai village.

  • Capacity building and awareness raising trainings on olive tree planting, grafting of wild olive trees, conservation of olive trees and the role of trees in combating the effects of climate change will be provided in Dherai Municipality.

  • Develop a strategy for the local community together with the local forestry authority to establish a local oil extraction unit in the area in the future.

Sustainability Week Pakistan (SWP) is a youth-led non-governmental organization committed to youth empowerment and development. SWP train and equip youth with tools and skills to play their role in climate change adaptation and sustainable development in Pakistan. SWP is striving to support youth and to make them better future leaders. The SWP as a youth-led organization laid down its foundation on well-defined organized sets of principles, which focuses not on just work for youth but working with the youth.

SWP’s vision is to come together for sustainability, we believe in youth’s power and potential to concrete solutions to the most pressing challenges like sustainability and climate change and to build a sustainable society where all youth are safe, resilient & empowered.

Project: Reducing climate change impacts and boosting the local economy through olive trees plantation and grafting.

Each year, Pakistan spends three to four billion dollars on the import of crude edible oils and oilseed. The country is receiving 84 percent of the total consumption of edible oil from abroad. Increased local production of oilseed crops and the improved working of the domestic edible oil refining units can help reduce this huge import bill and the government can save billions of dollars being spent on cooking oil import.

Olive oil production is generally beneficial in all aspects, it is not only good for health but also the environment. Provisional scientific studies conducted by the International Olive Council (IOC) indicates that a hectare of olive trees cancels out one person’s annual carbon footprint; the production of a liter of olive oil captures 10.64 kg of atmospheric carbon dioxide (CO2), and the world production of olive oil could absorb the emissions of a city of more than 7 million inhabitants such as Hong Kong. We can confirm that olive oil production is beneficial for the environment since the olive tree is the tree with the greatest capacity for absorption of atmospheric CO2.

Almost all districts of the Malakand Division of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan have a large number of wild olive trees which, if grafted on the commercial level, can bring about economic revolution besides saving billions of dollars annually for the country. According to the Agriculture Research Institute (ARI) Tarnab’s food technology department, there are 80 million wild olive trees in Malakand Division alone, in which only 18,000 have been turned productive through grafting. They are found in abundance in Dir Lower, Dir Upper, Swat, Shangla, Buner, Malakand Agency, and Bajaur. The huge amount could be saved by converting wild olive trees in the region into productive ones through the technique of grafting. if promoted on a commercial level with oil extracting machinery installed at the local level, olive oil production would not only change the fate of local growers but also would earn billions of foreign exchange for the country.

Although the local community in recent years has developed an interest in grafting and planting olive trees, but overall, the growing or grafting of olive plants in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, especially in Malakand Division, is yet to get the government attention despite the fact the area is already rich in species and has great potential for growing the plants for oil production. For the extraction of olive oil, there is one oil extraction unit in the periphery district Bajaur and one in Tarnab farm Peshwar which is the capital city of the province Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, however, there is a great potential and need for a local oil extraction unit in the near future. Malakand region is suitable for any kind of farming, but the farmers need technical assistance and local small extraction machine and that farmers can concentrate on the production of olive oil instead of wheat, barley, rice, and fruits.

This pilot project will be conducted in village Dherrai, Union council Kotigram, District Lower Dir Malakand Divison. According to the 2017 census report, the subject area comprises a total household of 109 and a population of 1184.

The main focus of the pilot project is not only to uplift the local economy of the local small farmers through diversifying their livelihoods from traditional agriculture crops to the lucrative olive trees but also to protect the local environment, promoting the culture of green jobs and raising the awareness of the importance of greenery among the local population.

The pilot project will help local farmers and youth to learn grafting techniques from experts and to start grafting wild olive trees. The farmers will be able to convert their natural wild olive trees through grafting into productive ones and to grow hybrid olive trees for which SWP along with the local forest and agriculture departments would provide technical support.

Moreover, olive is not only a symbol of peace and economy and a constant service provider that can survive severe climatic conditions but it is also a good carbon sink. It can reduce the intensity and frequency of floods in the region through land and steep slope stabilization in the rugged region selected for the project.

This project’s long-lasting effects include:
• The main beneficiaries are the local communities in the village Dherai. The planted and grafted olive trees from this project will help the local communities to boost their economy and reduce their reliance on traditional agriculture crops. The conservation of the existing olive trees in the region plays an important role not just for environmental purposes but also for local people’s effective livelihood sources. The olive trees which were previously used as wood for fire or furniture now can be used as a source of sustainable green jobs in the region. With the growing awareness about the lucrative and other benefits of these wild olive trees and some very successful projects in other areas of Pakistan, the local community now views them as precious assets. The planted and grafted olive trees will be able to provide fruits after four years that will lead to green jobs in the community. It will ultimately enhance the overall resilience of the local community. The local community owns these wild olive trees. Moreover, all the project activities will be carried out in close coordination and communication with the local forest and agriculture department which already oversees these forests.
• Awareness regarding the conservation of existing olive trees and forest in District Lower Dir Malakand Division.
• Technical knowledge regarding grafting and planting of hybrid olive trees in the region. The ties between the local small farmers with the local agriculture department will be further enhanced.
• This project is expected to increase the capacities of the people of the village that can lead to a behavioral change that can influence other people in the region to start grafting the wild olive trees. Thus the villages will become good partners with the forestry and agriculture department in the future concerning olive trees plantation, grafting, and protection.
• It will lead to increased knowledge on climate change impacts and flood risk reduction in the communities and how to best use the local resources for the local economy to boost. This will contribute to sustainable forest management and will raise awareness among the people for the existing and potential green jobs in the regions.

Location

Sustainability Week Pakistan

Projektzusammenfassung

Verringerung der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und Förderung der lokalen Wirtschaft durch Anpflanzung und Veredelung von Olivenbäumen in Dherai, Pakistan

Global Goals

Land

Pakistan

Status

in preparation

Budget

5000 €

Partner

  • Sustainability Week International

Projektziele

  • Einrichtung einer Baumschule für Hybrid-Olivenbäume im Dorf Dherai als dauerhaftes Ressourcenzentrum

  • In der eingerichteten Baumschule werden zweitausend Olivenpflanzen gezüchtet

  • Etwa dreitausend Olivenpflanzen von guter Qualität werden von einer renommierten Olivenpflanzenfirma in der Tarnab-Farm im Distrikt Peshawar gekauft und an die örtlichen Bauern für die Neuanpflanzung verteilt.

  • Die Beauftragung lokaler Experten für die Veredelung von dreitausend wilden Olivenbäumen in produktive Bäume im Dorf Dherai.

  • Schulungen zum Aufbau von Kapazitäten und zur Sensibilisierung für die Anpflanzung von Olivenbäumen, die Veredelung von wilden Olivenbäumen, die Erhaltung von Olivenbäumen und die Rolle von Bäumen bei der Bekämpfung der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels werden in der Gemeinde Dherai

  • Entwicklung einer Strategie für die örtliche Gemeinschaft zusammen mit der örtlichen Forstbehörde, um in Zukunft eine lokale Ölgewinnungseinheit in dem Gebiet zu errichten.

Die Sustainability Week Pakistan (SWP) ist eine von Jugendlichen geführte Nichtregierungsorganisation, die sich für die Stärkung der Rolle der Jugend und die Entwicklung einsetzt. SWP schult und rüstet Jugendliche mit Werkzeugen und Fähigkeiten aus, damit sie ihre Rolle bei der Anpassung an den Klimawandel und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Pakistan spielen können. SWP ist bestrebt, die Jugend zu unterstützen und sie zu besseren zukünftigen Führungskräften zu machen. Die SWP ist eine von Jugendlichen geführte Organisation, die ihr Fundament auf klar definierten, organisierten Prinzipien aufbaut, die sich nicht nur auf die Arbeit für Jugendliche, sondern auch auf die Arbeit mit Jugendlichen konzentrieren.

Wir glauben an die Kraft und das Potenzial der Jugend, um konkrete Lösungen für die dringendsten Herausforderungen wie Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel zu finden und eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft aufzubauen, in der alle Jugendlichen sicher, widerstandsfähig und gestärkt sind.

Projekt: Verringerung der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und Ankurbelung der lokalen Wirtschaft durch Anpflanzung und Veredelung von Olivenbäumen.

Pakistan gibt jedes Jahr drei bis vier Milliarden Dollar für den Import von rohen Speiseölen und Ölsaaten aus. Das Land bezieht 84 Prozent des Gesamtverbrauchs an Speiseöl aus dem Ausland. Eine verstärkte lokale Produktion von Ölsaaten und die Verbesserung der einheimischen Speiseölraffinerien können dazu beitragen, diese riesige Importrechnung zu senken, und die Regierung kann Milliarden von Dollar einsparen, die für den Import von Speiseöl ausgegeben werden.

Die Olivenölerzeugung ist in jeder Hinsicht vorteilhaft, sie ist nicht nur gut für die Gesundheit, sondern auch für die Umwelt. Vorläufige wissenschaftliche Studien des Internationalen Olivenölrats (IOC) zeigen, dass ein Hektar Olivenbäume den jährlichen CO2-Fußabdruck einer Person ausgleicht; die Produktion eines Liters Olivenöl bindet 10,64 kg atmosphärisches Kohlendioxid (CO2), und die weltweite Olivenölproduktion könnte die Emissionen einer Stadt mit mehr als 7 Millionen Einwohnern wie Hongkong absorbieren. Wir können bestätigen, dass die Olivenölproduktion der Umwelt zugute kommt, denn der Olivenbaum ist der Baum mit der größten Kapazität zur Absorption von CO2 aus der Atmosphäre.

In fast allen Bezirken der Malakand-Division der pakistanischen Provinz Khyber Pakhtunkhwa gibt es eine große Anzahl wilder Olivenbäume, die, wenn sie auf kommerzieller Ebene veredelt werden, eine wirtschaftliche Revolution bewirken und dem Land jährlich Milliarden von Dollar einsparen können. Nach Angaben der Abteilung für Lebensmitteltechnologie des Agrarforschungsinstituts (ARI) in Tarnab gibt es allein in der Division Malakand 80 Millionen wilde Olivenbäume, von denen nur 18.000 durch Veredelung produktiv gemacht wurden. Sie sind in Dir Lower, Dir Upper, Swat, Shangla, Buner, Malakand Agency und Bajaur in großer Zahl zu finden. Durch die Umwandlung von wilden Olivenbäumen in der Region in produktive Olivenbäume mittels Veredelungstechnik könnten enorme Summen eingespart werden. Wenn die Olivenölproduktion auf kommerzieller Ebene gefördert und Ölgewinnungsmaschinen vor Ort installiert würden, würde sich nicht nur das Schicksal der lokalen Erzeuger ändern, sondern das Land würde auch Milliarden an Devisen einnehmen.

Obwohl die örtliche Bevölkerung in den letzten Jahren ein Interesse an der Veredelung und Anpflanzung von Olivenbäumen entwickelt hat, wird der Anbau oder die Veredelung von Olivenpflanzen in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, insbesondere in der Division Malakand, von der Regierung noch nicht beachtet, obwohl das Gebiet bereits reich an Arten ist und ein großes Potenzial für den Anbau von Pflanzen zur Ölgewinnung hat. Für die Gewinnung von Olivenöl gibt es eine Ölgewinnungsanlage im Randbezirk Bajaur und eine in der Tarnab-Farm in Peshwar, der Hauptstadt der Provinz Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, aber es besteht ein großes Potenzial und Bedarf an einer lokalen Ölgewinnungsanlage in naher Zukunft. Die Region Malakand eignet sich für jede Art von Landwirtschaft, aber die Landwirte brauchen technische Unterstützung und eine kleine lokale Ölgewinnungsanlage, damit sie sich auf die Produktion von Olivenöl anstelle von Weizen, Gerste, Reis und Obst konzentrieren können.

Dieses Pilotprojekt wird im Dorf Dherrai, Union Council Kotigram, District Lower Dir Malakand Divison durchgeführt. Laut dem Bericht der Volkszählung 2017 umfasst das Gebiet insgesamt 109 Haushalte und 1184 Einwohner.

Das Hauptaugenmerk des Pilotprojekts liegt nicht nur darauf, die lokale Wirtschaft der örtlichen Kleinbauern durch die Diversifizierung ihres Lebensunterhalts vom traditionellen Ackerbau bis hin zu den lukrativen Olivenbäumen zu verbessern, sondern auch auf dem Schutz der lokalen Umwelt, der Förderung der Kultur der grünen Arbeitsplätze und der Sensibilisierung der lokalen Bevölkerung für die Bedeutung von Grünflächen.

Das Pilotprojekt wird den örtlichen Landwirten und Jugendlichen helfen, die Veredelungstechniken von Experten zu erlernen und mit der Veredelung von wilden Olivenbäumen zu beginnen. Die Landwirte werden in der Lage sein, ihre natürlichen wilden Olivenbäume durch Veredelung in produktive Bäume umzuwandeln und Hybrid-Olivenbäume zu züchten, wofür die SWP zusammen mit den örtlichen Forst- und Landwirtschaftsbehörden technische Unterstützung leisten wird.

Darüber hinaus ist die Olive nicht nur ein Symbol für Frieden und Wirtschaft und ein ständiger Dienstleister, der schwere klimatische Bedingungen überstehen kann, sondern auch eine gute Kohlenstoffsenke. Er kann die Intensität und Häufigkeit von Überschwemmungen in der Region durch die Stabilisierung von Böden und Steilhängen in der für das Projekt ausgewählten zerklüfteten Region verringern.

Zu den langfristigen Auswirkungen des Projekts gehören:
– Die Hauptnutznießer sind die lokalen Gemeinschaften im Dorf Dherai. Die im Rahmen dieses Projekts gepflanzten und veredelten Olivenbäume werden den lokalen Gemeinschaften helfen, ihre Wirtschaft anzukurbeln und ihre Abhängigkeit von den traditionellen landwirtschaftlichen Kulturen zu verringern. Die Erhaltung der bestehenden Olivenbäume in der Region spielt nicht nur für die Umwelt eine wichtige Rolle, sondern auch für die effektive Lebensgrundlage der Menschen vor Ort. Die Olivenbäume, die früher als Feuer- oder Möbelholz verwendet wurden, können nun als langfristiges Wirtschaftsgut in der Region genutzt werden. Mit dem wachsenden Bewusstsein für die lukrativen und anderen Vorteile dieser wilden Olivenbäume und einigen sehr erfolgreichen Projekten in anderen Gebieten Pakistans betrachtet die örtliche Gemeinschaft sie nun als wertvolles Gut. Die gepflanzten und veredelten Olivenbäume werden nach vier Jahren Früchte tragen, die zu grünen Arbeitsplätzen in der Gemeinde führen werden. Dies wird letztlich die allgemeine Widerstandsfähigkeit der lokalen Gemeinschaft stärken. Diese wilden Olivenbäume sind Eigentum der lokalen Gemeinschaft. Darüber hinaus werden alle Projektaktivitäten in enger Abstimmung und Kommunikation mit der örtlichen Forst- und Landwirtschaftsbehörde durchgeführt, die bereits für diese Wälder zuständig ist.
– Sensibilisierung für die Erhaltung der bestehenden Olivenbäume und Wälder im Distrikt Lower Dir Malakand Division.
– Technische Kenntnisse über die Veredelung und Anpflanzung von Hybrid-Olivenbäumen in der Region. Die Beziehungen zwischen den örtlichen Kleinbauern und der örtlichen Landwirtschaftsbehörde werden weiter verbessert.
– Es wird erwartet, dass dieses Projekt die Kapazitäten der Dorfbewohner erhöht, was zu einer Verhaltensänderung führen kann, die andere Menschen in der Region dazu bewegen kann, mit der Veredelung von wilden Olivenbäumen zu beginnen. Auf diese Weise werden die Dörfer in Zukunft gute Partner der Forst- und Landwirtschaftsbehörde bei der Anpflanzung, der Veredelung und dem Schutz von Olivenbäumen sein.
– Das Projekt wird dazu führen, dass die Gemeinden mehr über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und die Verringerung des Überschwemmungsrisikos erfahren und wissen, wie sie die lokalen Ressourcen am besten nutzen können, um die lokale Wirtschaft anzukurbeln. Dies wird zu einer nachhaltigen Waldbewirtschaftung beitragen und das Bewusstsein der Menschen für die bestehenden und potenziellen grünen Arbeitsplätze in den Regionen schärfen.

Standort